Richard Marius, Historical Novelist: The Bourbonville Novels

Dates: January 24 - March 6, 2024

Meets: W from 10:00 AM to 11:30 AM

Location: Center for Lifelong Learning 154

No Fee: $0.00

Please note: this course requires membership in *OLLI Membership Dues 2023-2024 and 2024 OLLI Winter Term

Richard Marius (1933-1999) was educated as a journalist, a clergyman, and a Reformation historian. He published biographies, academic articles, essays, and reviews, and turned his heritage and his life into historical novels. While teaching history at the University of Tennessee, Marius wrote his first novel, The Coming of Rain (1971), a period novel heavy with memory set in fictional Bourbonville in East Tennessee twenty years after the Civil War. He followed with Bound for the Promised Land (1976), an episodic novel of a Tennessee man in search of his father in the American West; After the War (1992), set once again in Bourbonville after World War I, with Paul Alexander, a Greek immigrant (like Marius's father), as the protagonist; and An Affair of Honor (1998), also set in Tennessee, with a protagonist based very loosely on his own life.

The novels are out of print, but numerous new and used copies are available online at and The instructor will have copies of the last novel available for a minimal price.

Instructor: Nancy Grisham Anderson
Fee: $0.00

Center for Lifelong Learning 154


Email Information to Friend Print